Get up with the play and never miss a moment of the season! Watch games live on DUKE and catch all the action in our weekly highlights show.

AFL - Netflix

Type: Sports

Languages: English

Status: Running

Runtime: 30 minutes

Premier: 2017-03-29

AFL - List of Australian Football League premiers - Netflix

This page is a complete chronological listing of Australian Football League premiers. The Australian Football League (AFL), known as the Victorian Football League (VFL) until 1990, is the elite national competition in Australian rules football. Each year, the premiership is awarded to the club that wins the AFL Grand Final. The grand final has been played in all VFL/AFL seasons except for 1897 and 1924 (where the premiership was awarded without a Grand final being played), and has been an annual tradition in its current format since 1931. Since the introduction by the League of equalisation policies of a salary cap and draft in 1987, every team currently competing in the Australian Football League (except for Gold Coast, which has not yet qualified for a finals series) has made a preliminary final. This has had a significant impact on the spread of premierships: since 1987, thirteen clubs have won a premiership, compared with only five clubs in the twenty-three seasons between 1967 and 1989. Essendon and Carlton have won the most VFL/AFL premierships, with a total of 16 each. Of the teams currently competing in the Australian Football League, only Fremantle, Gold Coast and Greater Western Sydney are yet to win a premiership.

AFL - Minor grade premierships - Netflix

In addition to the seniors, VFL/AFL clubs have competed in premierships in three minor grades: VFL/AFL Reserves premierships: 1919–1999 VFL/AFL Under-19s premierships: 1946–1991 VFL/AFL Night premierships: 1956–1971, 1977–2013

AFL - References - Netflix