Horticulturist Christine Walkden embarks on a journey to explore Britain's gardens and countryside from a hot-air balloon.

Glorious Gardens from Above - Netflix

Type: Documentary

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 45 minutes

Premier: 2014-11-10

Glorious Gardens from Above - Forbidden City - Netflix

The Forbidden City is a palace complex in central Beijing, China. The former Chinese imperial palace from the Ming dynasty to the end of the Qing dynasty—the years 1420 to 1912, it now houses the Palace Museum. The Forbidden City served as the home of emperors and their households as well as the ceremonial and political center of Chinese government for almost 500 years. Constructed from 1406 to 1420, the complex consists of 980 buildings and covers 72 hectares (over 180 acres). The palace exemplifies traditional Chinese palatial architecture, and has influenced cultural and architectural developments in East Asia and elsewhere. The Forbidden City was declared a World Heritage Site in 1987, and is listed by UNESCO as the largest collection of preserved ancient wooden structures in the world. Since 1925 the Forbidden City has been under the charge of the Palace Museum, whose extensive collection of artwork and artefacts were built upon the imperial collections of the Ming and Qing dynasties. Part of the museum's former collection is now in the National Palace Museum in Taipei. Both museums descend from the same institution, but were split after the Chinese Civil War. Since 2012, the Forbidden City has seen an average of 15 million visitors annually, and received more than 16 million visitors in 2016 and 2017.

Glorious Gardens from Above - Western Six Palaces - Netflix

Palace of Eternal Longevity (永寿宫) Hall of the Supreme Principle (太极殿) Palace of Eternal Spring (长春宫) Palace of Earthly Honour (翊坤宫) Palace of Gathering Elegance (储秀宫) Palace of Universal Happiness (咸福宫)

Glorious Gardens from Above - References - Netflix