Struggling parents call David Vitalli for help with their difficult teenagers, but years of experience working with families in crisis have taught him the apple usually doesn't fall far from the tree. Each one-hour episode finds the parents under as much scrutiny as their kids as Vitalli digs out the truth to set these families straight.

Type: Reality

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: 2014-07-05

My Dysfunctional Family - My Name Is Lucy Barton - Netflix

My Name is Lucy Barton is a 2016 New York Times Bestselling novel and the fifth novel by the American writer Elizabeth Strout. It was first published in the United States on January 12, 2016 through Random House. The book details the complicated relationship between the titular Lucy Barton and her mother. In July 2016, it was longlisted for the 2016 Man Booker Prize.

My Dysfunctional Family - Synopsis - Netflix

Growing up in a dysfunctional household, Lucy Barton had a difficult childhood. Her father was abusive and while her mother loved Lucy, she was unable to protect her or her siblings from their father's mercurial mood swings. As a result Lucy would frequently take solace in reading, which led her to realize that she wanted to become a writer. When she came of age, Lucy quickly fled the family home. Years later Lucy is hospitalized after she develops an infection following an operation. During her stay her mother comes to visit and the two reconnect after years of not speaking to one another.

My Dysfunctional Family - References - Netflix