The NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series is a drag racing series organized by the National Hot Rod Association (NHRA). It is the top competition series of the NHRA, comprising competition in four classes, including Top Fuel Dragster,Funny Car, Pro Stock, and Pro Stock Motorcycle. The champion of each category is determined by a point system where points are given according to finishing placement and qualifying effort. The season is divided into two segments. After the first 18 races, the Top 10 of each pro category are locked in and compete in the last six races with the difference in points greatly minimized.

NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series - Netflix

Type: Sports

Languages: English

Status: Running

Runtime: 180 minutes

Premier: 2010-02-14

NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series - 2018 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series - Netflix

The 2018 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Season was announced on June 6, 2017. It is the 63rd season of the National Hot Rod Association's top drag racing competition. There will be 24 Top Fuel, Funny Car, and Pro Stock events, and 16 Pro Stock Motorcycle events.

NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series - Additional Rules for Specially Marked Races - Netflix

4 Lanes: The Four-Wide Nationals in both Las Vegas and Charlotte in the spring will compete with cars on four lanes. All cars will qualify on each lane as all four lanes will be used in qualifying. Three rounds with cars using all four lanes. In Rounds One and Two, the top two drivers (of four) will advance to the next round. The pairings are set as follows: Race One: 1, 8, 9, 16 Race Two: 4, 5, 12, 13 Race Three: 2, 7, 10, 15 Race Four: 3, 6, 11, 14 Semifinal One: Top two in Race One and Race Two Semifinal Two: Top two in Race Three and Race Four Finals: Top two in Semifinal One and Semifinal Two

Lane choice determined by times in previous round. In first round, lane choice determined by fastest times. Drivers who advance in Rounds One and Two will receive 20 points for each round advancement. In Round Three, the winner of the race will be declared the race winner and will collect 40 points. The runner-up will receive 20 points. Third and fourth place drivers will be credited as semifinal losers. 1.5: The U. S. Nationals and Auto Club Finals will have their race points increased by 50% . Drivers who qualify but are eliminated in the first round receive 30 points, and each round win is worth 30 points. The top four receive 10, 9, 8, and 7 points, respectively, for qualifying positions, with the 5-6 drivers receiving 6 points, 7-8 drivers receiving 5 points, 9-12 receiving 4 points, and 13-16 receiving 3 points. Also, the top four, not three, drivers after each session receive points for fastest times in each round (4-3-2-1).

NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series - References - Netflix