A definitive landmark series charting the emergence and re-emergence of rock music as a global force, told through the musicians who have shaped this most enduring of genres.

Seven Ages of Rock - Netflix

Type: Scripted

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: 2007-05-19

Seven Ages of Rock - Who the Fuck Are Arctic Monkeys? - Netflix

Who the Fuck Are Arctic Monkeys? is the second EP by English rock band Arctic Monkeys, released on 24 April 2006 by Domino Records.

Seven Ages of Rock - Background - Netflix

“The View from the Afternoon” was expected to have been the band's third single, following UK Number Ones “I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor” and “When the Sun Goes Down”, but the band announced in March 2006 that its next record would be a five-track EP, which thereby disqualified it from being listed in the UK singles and albums charts because it was too long to be a single and too cheap to be an album. With “The View from the Afternoon” as the A-side, the remainder of the EP was made up of new material, although “Cigarette Smoker Fiona” was a re-work of “Cigarette Smoke” – one of the band's earlier songs that formed part of the “Beneath the Boardwalk” collection of demo CDs. “Despair in the Departure Lounge” was premiered at a gig in the Great American Music Hall in San Francisco, although it was played by Alex Turner alone due to Andy Nicholson blowing his bass amplifier. Although the contentious language content of the EP resulted in less radio airplay than the band's earlier releases, the nature of their rise to fame and their lack of reliance on radio meant that this was not a concern for the band. The photograph on the cover was taken by Timm Cleasby.

Seven Ages of Rock - References - Netflix