The Dublin Murders is drawn from Tana French's mystery novels In The Woods and The Likeness. Blending psychological mystery and darkness, each novel is led by a different detective or detectives from the same Dublin squad. The first book centers on a duo investigating the murder of a 12-year-old girl; The Likeness is about a young female detective who goes undercover to solve a murder in an elite college town. The thruline is an intense emotional connection between cop and crime, underpinned by a disturbing tremor from another influence.

Type: Scripted

Languages: English

Status: In Development

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: None

The Dublin Murders - The Likeness - Netflix

The Likeness is a 2008 mystery novel by Tana French. Set in Ireland, it is the second volume in French's Dublin Murder Squad series.

The Dublin Murders - Critical reception - Netflix

In 2009 the book was shortlisted for the first annual Ireland AM Crime Fiction Award. The Irish Independent praised the “elegance and insight” of French's writing and described the book as “a brilliant thriller, beautifully written.” Laura Miller of included the book among the ten on the Salon Book Awards 2008, writing that “The hypnotic prose and eerie atmosphere conspire to make this ostensible mystery novel much, much more than it appears to be.” In a more critical vein, Janet Maslin of The New York Times commented that French “could have achieved the same effects much more succinctly in a more tightly edited version of this same story. But Cassie herself remains a strong enough character to sustain interest.”

The Dublin Murders - References - Netflix