The Nightmare Worlds of H.G. Wells is an anthology of four spooky tales.

Ray Winstone is heading a cast of acclaimed actors including Harry Potter star Michael Gambon in four HG Wells stories adapted especially for Sky Arts.

The anthology of twisted tales includes The Late Mr Elvesham, The Purple Pileus, The Moth and Devotee of Art, and will form the series The Nightmare World of HG Wells, which is set to air on Sky Arts in January 2016. The broadcast will coincide with the 150th anniversary of Wells' birth.

The set-based dramas will feature a mix of well-known faces and rising stars of British theatre and screen including Michael Gambon (Fortitude), Antonia Thomas (Misfits), Luke Treadaway (Unbroken), Shaun Parkes (Notes on a Scandal), Rupert Graves (Sherlock) Brid Brennan (Brooklyn) and Tom Goodman-Hill (Mr Selfridge).

They join Winstone, who stars as the enigmatic author.

In each of the shorts, Winstone's Wells acts as narrator, guiding the viewer through his nightmare stories, commenting on his characters and overseeing their twisted fates.

The Nightmare Worlds of H.G. Wells - Netflix

Type: Scripted

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 30 minutes

Premier: 2016-01-28

The Nightmare Worlds of H.G. Wells - The Infinite Worlds of H. G. Wells - Netflix

The Infinite Worlds of H. G. Wells is a four-hour television miniseries conceived by Nick Willing and released in 2001 by the Hallmark Channel. It is based on a number of short stories by H. G. Wells, and in some territories was titled The Scientist.

The Nightmare Worlds of H.G. Wells - Production - Netflix

The filming was done as a full period costume drama, and also took full advantage of notable London locations. These included the London Underground, where scenes from Brownlow's Newspaper were shot at the disused Aldwych tube station.

The Nightmare Worlds of H.G. Wells - References - Netflix