The Women of Brewster Place is an American television miniseries. It is a gripping and loving group portrait of seven black women whose backs are literally against the wall; a wall whose crumbling brick facade has turned the address of Brewster Place into both a real and symbolic dead end. It is a street filled with tales of courage and anguish, a city block where compassionate energy is inevitably at war with implacable desolation.

The Women of Brewster Place - Netflix

Type: Scripted

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: 1989-03-19

The Women of Brewster Place - The Women of Brewster Place (novel) - Netflix

The Women of Brewster Place (1982) is the debut novel of American author Gloria Naylor. It won the National Book Award in category First Novel. It was adapted as the 1989 miniseries The Women of Brewster Place and the 1990 television show Brewster Place by Oprah Winfrey's Harpo Productions. The Women explores the lives of both men and women in an urban setting and examines relationships, both in terms of friendship and romantic love, including homosexual relationships. In each of the “Seven Stories” of its subtitle, one or more of the seven women are involved with the main character of that particular story, such as Mattie appearing in Etta Mae's story or Kiswana showing up in Cora Lee's.

The Women of Brewster Place - Plot summary - Netflix

The women of Brewster Place are “hard-edged, soft-centered, brutally demanding, and easily pleased”. Their names are Mattie Michael, Etta Mae Johnson, Lucielia “Ciel” Turner, Melanie “Kiswana” Browne, Cora Lee, Lorraine, and Theresa. Each of their lives are explored in several short stories. These short stories also chronicle the ups and downs many women of color face.

The Women of Brewster Place - References - Netflix