This exhaustive collection encompasses all the events that occurred during World War II. Covering an astonishing amount of ground, events in France, London, Munich, Stalingrad, the Pacific, and many others are all covered in intimate detail. Some of the stories offered by veterans create a startling portrait of the events as they unfolded, as well as adding a personal touch to this amazing program. In short, this is an insightful way to gather a welter of information on this important chapter in world history.

WWII: The Complete History - Netflix

Type: Documentary

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: 2000-10-05

WWII: The Complete History - Allies of World War II - Netflix

The Allies of World War II, called the United Nations from the 1 January 1942 declaration, were the countries that together opposed the Axis powers during the Second World War (1939–1945). The Allies promoted the alliance as a means to control German, Japanese and Italian aggression. At the start of the war on 1 September 1939, the Allies consisted of France, Poland and the United Kingdom, as well as their dependent states, such as British India. Within days they were joined by the independent Dominions of the British Commonwealth: Australia, Canada, New Zealand and South Africa. After the start of the German invasion of North Europe until the Balkan Campaign, the Netherlands, Belgium, Greece, and Yugoslavia joined the Allies. After first having cooperated with Germany in invading Poland whilst remaining neutral in the Allied-Axis conflict, the Soviet Union perforce joined the Allies in June 1941 after being invaded by Germany. The United States provided war materiel and money all along, and officially joined in December 1941 after the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor. China had already been in a prolonged war with Japan since the Marco Polo Bridge Incident of 1937, but officially joined the Allies in 1941. The alliance was formalised by the Declaration by United Nations, from 1 January 1942. However, the name United Nations was rarely used to describe the Allies during the war. The leaders of the “Big Three”—the Soviet Union, the United Kingdom, and the United States—controlled Allied strategy; relations between the United Kingdom and the United States were especially close. The Big Three together with China were referred as a “trusteeship of the powerful”, then were recognized as the Allied “Big Four” in the Declaration by United Nations and later as the “Four Policemen” of the United Nations. After the war ended, the Allied nations became the basis of the modern United Nations.

WWII: The Complete History - 1941 - Netflix

Costa Rica: 8 December 1941 Dominican Republic: 8 December 1941 El Salvador: 8 December 1941 Haiti: 8 December 1941 Honduras: 8 December 1941 Nicaragua: 8 December 1941 China: 9 December 1941 (at war with Japan since 1937) Cuba: 9 December 1941 Guatemala: 9 December 1941 United States: 11 December 1941 (war declared on the U.S. by Germany and Italy)

Yugoslavia: 6 April 1941 (Yugoslavia signed the Tripartite Pact, becoming a nominal member of the Axis on 25 March; but was attacked by the Axis on 6 April 1941.) Soviet Union: 22 June 1941; Despite membership of the Soviet Union, Ukraine and Belarus were recognized as separate fighting States by the United Kingdom and the United States at the end of the war. Panama: 7 December 1941 United States: 8 December 1941 (war declared against Japan) Philippines: 8 December 1941

WWII: The Complete History - References - Netflix