This live weekly dramatic anthology show was unique in that its sponsor, Hazel Bishop, requested viewers to submit story ideas. The person sending in a story that was accepted and adapted for television received a cash prize of \$1,000. It had to be a true story and literary skill was not required. The viewer was to tell it in his own words and let the program's staff rewrite it for airing. The presentations were done with very little in the way of scenery or props, much in the manner of little-theater performances.

Type: Scripted

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 30 minutes

Premier: 1952-04-02

Your Prize Story - O. Henry Award - Netflix

The O. Henry Award is an annual American award given to short stories of exceptional merit. The award is named after the American short-story writer O. Henry. The PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories is an annual collection of the year's twenty best stories published in U.S. and Canadian magazines, written in English. The award itself is called The O. Henry Award, not the O. Henry Prize, though until recently there were first, second and third prize winners; the collection is called The PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories, and the original collection was called Prize Stories 1919: The O. Henry Memorial Awards

Your Prize Story - Partnership with PEN American Center - Netflix

In 2009 The O. Henry Prize Stories publisher, Anchor Books, renamed the series in partnership with the PEN American Center, producing the first PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories collection. Proceeds from the PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories 2009 would be directed to PEN's Readers & Writers Program, which sends well-known authors to under served inner-city schools. The selection included stories by Graham Joyce, Kristen Sundberg Lunstrum, E. V. Slate, John Burnside, Mohan Sikka, L. E. Miller, Alistair Morgan, Roger Nash, Manuel Muñoz, Caitlin Horrocks, Ha Jin, Paul Theroux, Judy Troy, Nadine Gordimer, Viet Dinh (not to be confused with conservative jurist Viet Dinh), Karen Brown (author), Marisa Silver, Paul Yoon, Andrew Sean Greer and Junot Díaz, with A. S. Byatt, Tim O'Brien and Anthony Doerr – all authors of past O. Henry Prize Stories – serving as the prize jury. In an interview for the Vintage Books and Anchor Books blog, editor Laura Furman called the collaboration with PEN a “natural partnership.”

Your Prize Story - References - Netflix